Coffeegrounds: I can do all thru prayer and coffee











{April 4, 2011}   Bread Pudding, Re-organization, and Near Death Experiences

That was my late afternoon all in one event.  I have no idea what put the desire in me to make bread pudding.  It sounds rather disgusting. Mmmm, soggy bread…blech!  Perhaps it was the title Banana Foster put in front of it that made me decide to test out my theory that bread pudding is disgusting, because if it isn’t, than that banana’s foster is total bonus!  After all, who wouldn’t like bananas caramelised in cinnamon and brown sugar and a bit of rum?

(Side note: The bananas are caramelising as I write this and I just realised I could have actually put rum in them >.<  I didn’t because I never have hard liquor in the house and so just assumed I had none, but I just remembered I have half a bottle from a recipe before! DOH!)

(Second Side note: also as I type this, Max is destroying my book case…again)

Obviously, for bread pudding you need bread, or more specifically, stale bread.  I bought a loaf and let it sit out until it was hard as a rock.  The recipe asks for six cups.  I went totally overboard staling (is that a word?) the whole loaf, but I suppose the left overs can be fed to the Canada geese that poop all over our complex here.  So that, you know, they can make more poop.  Luckily we don’t live close enough to the little lake to suffer too much from that ^_^

Max was very helpful in the kitchen.  He was the one organizing all my drawers and cupboards while I rewarded him every so often with banana pieces.  Here he is, making a mess organizing very helpfully.

He gets a little out of control.  That, or he’s very mischievous.  Twice he had me gliding across the kitchen floor with an aptly timed plastic tupperware and rolling pin he pulled out and slid.  And they say to childproof your home for THEIR safety.  -_-

Chasing Max is also a part of every day cooking.  The stairs, as you can see, are a sneaky favorite.  And he’s so good at them!

Sigh….another side effect of being a new mom is that I only know about half of what I’m doing half the time.  (I can hear many of you now protesting that.  I know it’s probably me being me, but sometimes I want to blame it on something else :))  I just discovered that I currently have no eggs.  This is why I usually read the ingredient list first.  What happened this time?  Like I said, New Mom Syndrome.  That excuse is valid for at least 2 years isn’t it?

So, now I must wait as my delicious-smelling bananas get cold for my Honey to be oh-so-nice and bring me home some eggs.

This is fine since I need to rescue my purse’s entrails from my ever-curious underfoot son. 🙂

Well, I gave Tony a call about the eggs and his response was “That’s sounds normal”.  I guess the whole “New Mom” excuse isn’t gonna fly. Oh well.

Ok, so I FINALLY got this sucker done and after pausing to make dinner, give Max a bath, put him to bed, run to Target, and go grocery shopping for the week I needed a happy break.  I’m beat, but I got to chill out when I got home and try this stuff.  And you know what?  For soggy bread, it’s wonderful!  And not really soggy bready-ie like I expected, so that’s a plus.

Yay for something new!

Leave a Reply

et cetera
