Coffeegrounds: I can do all thru prayer and coffee











{March 29, 2011}   Bit of a mushy post

I am a lucky girl.  For many reasons this is true, but the reason I’m thinking this today is because I have some very special friends who would actually take the time the money to travel just to see me.

Roxanne drove from Champagne Illinois

Lennice came from Chicago area and traveled with Roxanne

Felicia flew from Texas, even though she does. not. like. flying.

Salome was there in spirit, but I know she would have driven the 8 hours from VA if getting off work were feasible after already being gone for a month 😛

The rest of you we missed muchly, but you know I’ve still got 2012 on the brain!

I met all these amazing girls in Texas.  Why do I love them so?  Because, they showed me Christ.  They are the real, the raw Christians whose hearts are truly turned towards God.  When I met them all, I was amazed and how they and the guys in the group truly loved and cared about each other, which is why I hung around to begin with.  It was because of their listening ears and honest speech that I came to not just know about Jesus, but to meet Him myself.

He is our center.  When we did anything together (and I”m talking about all of you here) Christ was always in the midst, even in something as “unspiritual” as shopping.  Texas holds some of my greatest memories.

When Roxanne and Lennice left, and I dropped Felicia at the airport it seemed normal that I should be sad, and in part I was.  It was good to be together again.  But, what reason do I have to be sad?  NONE! These precious girls are still a part of my life although life has moved on for each of us.  In the last year, so many of us have married, graduated, moved, had babies, had hard times, or a combination of these.  Yet, we are still “together”.  We are not “facebook friends”.  None of them are “that girl I used to know”.

MILLIONS of pictures were taken, and if you know me and care, you can just check out my tagged photos on my FB.  But, I will throw down one picture and steal the caption that Roxanne gave it, for it is so fitting.

I’m blessed to have you girls.  I’m so glad we were able to get together and I feel very squishy  that you’d all go through the trouble.  I did not know that I would have friends like that.  🙂

Brio's Italian Restaurant - A toast to friendships that pick up right where they left off, no matter the distance or the time.

Felicia says:

AW FRIEND!! I survived my flights just fine, so we’re all good. I felt a bit sad when I left, but it didn’t feel permanent, ya know? Like, it’s not the last time I’m ever going to see you girlies (And Tony and Max of course.) It was reassuring. I ❤ you Kelly!



Leave a Reply

et cetera
