Coffeegrounds: I can do all thru prayer and coffee











{September 16, 2010}   Missing 22nd Signal and Germany

A friend’s husband just left for basic yesterday.  Their chances are good that they will be overseas first, perhaps Germany, and all her army questions really brought it all back for me.

This early morning after feeding my son instead of returning to sleep my thoughts went on and on about 22nd Signal brigade and our time in Germany.  Oftentimes, it’s the negative memories that can take president, but this morning I could remember only the good.  A flood of fondness.

I really miss those days a lot.  I loved the people in 22nd and experiencing Europe was wonderful.  Not to mention I was a newlywed! I wish I could go back as I am now, knowing what I know now.  I was so very shy then, and rather selfish really.  I can’t help thinking what an idiot I was sometimes, too.

If we went again, things would be so different.  A lot has changed since then and if I were to describe those changes in a word…God.  Christ.  If I could copy and transfer my life in Texas to Germany I could have made such a difference.  I would have loved more, been selfless more, and SMARTER.  Scripture says in Psalms and Proverbs that fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom.  So true.  I wish I hadn’t been without God in Germany

…but that’s the way it goes isn’t it?  I think anyone who has a relationship with the Almighty wishes they knew Him all along.

For the first time since, I actually long for Germany.  I know what I could do now.  Love more, reach out more, and have even WAY MORE FUN on the economy than I did before.

I miss everyone in 22nd.  It was the BEST unit I experienced.  I miss all you 22nd people!  Roxanne and Gary, Eran and the kids, the Wings, Quenga, Alissa, just off the top of my head at 4-something a.m.  I also miss the free gym!  Ugh…having that was pretty nice.

However, I am where I am now.  This is where God has me, so I’ll just be shiny here ^_^

Leave a Reply

et cetera
