Coffeegrounds: I can do all thru prayer and coffee











{July 12, 2010}   Not Thankful Enough

Ah, ya’ll, it is a beautiful rainy day outside, the air smells fresh and wet, and our apartment is filled with a blueish hue and the drowsy hum of the dishwasher.  Max is slowly dozing off to “fireflies” by Owl City.

It’s moment like this at home that I really see all the goodness that I have.  I have a husband who does everything for me and it is only because of him that I can stay home with our sweet little son.  Yesterday I was in a funk and really wanted some chocolate ice cream to get out of it (it works!) and he went and got some for me.  I didn’t ask him to, he just did.  AND he knows I hate staying inside too long.  Even if he doesn’t really feel like it, he will take on the outdoors with me.  Last night we put Max in the stroller and went rollerblading for like an hour.  Yes, I survived unscathed.  I’m getting better at it!

Those are just a couple things in the last days.  He does so much more for me than I realize most of the time and I love him for it.

I have an apartment that is always filled with light, and herb garden that is actually still living, the ability to pursue hobbies, godly friends who make me happy, a best friend who I love dearly, and a lifetime still left to live for what God has for me and to walk in His ways.

And that is something else to be thankful for!  Salvation, forgiveness, and the constant molding process God puts us through to strengthen our faith, draw us closer to Him, and change our dark into light!

My latest lesson…I hate to admit it, but God is showing me that I do indeed have a short fuse.  Some of you might be surprised at that but unfortunately it is true.  The worst part is that I am short with family, those that are the very closest to me.  Isn’t that awful?  I am nicer and more patient with strangers than I am family sometimes.

But, this is just one of those times where God is showing me something I don’t want to see because it needs to change.  Change is hard, but I am trying…again…and will probably screw up and try again again.  That is where God’s Word being in my heart will be important.

But how wonderful is it that God shows us such things so we can grow!

There’s more I could say, but now I’m hungry so…

Salomé says:

You are an encouragement to me my friend. Since I’ve been in VA I’ve kept my bad attitude close to me while still trying to trust God and his plan that I cannot see in full view. Bad attitudes and doubt don’t mix very well in the growing process, but for the past two Sundays at the church I’ve been visiting the pastor spoke upon the ‘engaging of your mind”…How your thoughts fuel your actions and how God lays out to us in his Word how to “renew” (Romans 12:2), “set” (Colossians 3:1-3) and “capture” (2 Corinthians 2:16) our minds to focus on the Lord and His truth. I’ve allowed myself to sit in a funk while enclosed by the trailer that God has provided my family and I. Who am I to complain when God has provided for my most basic needs and beyond that…my home is just in another form I didn’t expect, my security (while first is in the Lord) is in being under my parents roof with no negative pressure to get out there and pursue school or to get a job…It’s all been positive encouragement. How could I deny God’s goodness? =]



Leave a Reply

et cetera
